Chairperson Details

Speaker 1

Dr. Rao V.S.V. Vadlamudi

President, Commonwealth Pharmacists Association (CPA)

In 1984, Rao Vadlamudi started his career at UDCT, Matunga, Mumbai, and during a career spanning 35 years, he worked in academia as well as in the Pharma industry in various capacities.

Academic positions held by Dr. Vadlamudi include Reader in Pharmacology, UDCT, Professor in Pharmacology, Bombay College of Pharmacy (BCP), first ever Director of BCP, Director of St. Peter’s Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Warangal and Adjunct Professor, Acharya & B. M. Reddy College of Pharmacy, Bengaluru.

His industry career began in 1990 in the Hoechst Research Centre as Head, Pharmacology. He was Head, Pharmacology in the Piramal Research Centre; VP, Discovery Biology in Suven Life Sciences; VP and Principal Fellow, Nektar Therapeutics India Limited, and Sr. VP -Life Sciences at Vimta Labs Ltd, Hyd.

He was the Editor of Indian Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, the official scientific publication of the Indian Pharmaceutical Association (IPA) from 1996-2014. He served as the President of the Indian Pharmaceutical Association for two terms 2014-16 and 2016-18 and during this period he was a member of the Drug Technical Advisory Board (DTAB) of the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Govt of India. Currently he is the President of the Commonwealth Pharmacists Association (CPA) and a member of the Governing Body of the Life Sciences Sector Skill Development Council (LSSSDC) of India.

He received the Fellowship of the Indian Pharmaceutical Association in 2000; the Dr. B. N. Ghosh Memorial Oration Award of the Indian Pharmacological Society in 2005, the Prof. M. L. Khorana Memorial Lecture Award of IPA in 2009, the Eminent Pharmacist award of IPA in 2013, the IPA President’s Special Oration award in 2014 and the Fellowship of the Association of Biotechnology and Pharmacy in Dec 2014.